Brownfield Awards

CBN HUB (Heroes Underpinning Brownfields) Awards

Presented for the first time in 2016, CBN’s own Awards program is intended to acknowledge individual achievement in brownfield redevelopment.  Awards are offered in three categories:

  • Foundation:  Presented to a contributor to the Brownfield industry in Canada who has had a profound impact on how things are done today.  Their work has provided a Foundation upon which the current practices and policies have been based.  This is a “career achievement” award
  • Pillar:  Presented to a recipient who has proven to be a Pillar of Strength in a significant aspect of the Brownfield industry in Canada.  They continue to provide valuable expertise and influence into the policies and practices that we are employing.  The Pillar award is a mid-career award
  • Vision:  Presented to a relative new-comer to the Brownfield Industry in Canada and who is providing valuable insight into programs, policies or practices that will be improving how Brownfield redevelopment in Canada is completed.

The three categories of awards correspond to the career stages of brownfielders.

There are several additional awards in Canada, the USA and Europe that focus on brownfields and related topics.  In Canada one in particular, the CUI Brownie Awards, has had a great impact with developers, municipalities, consultants and the brownfield industry as a whole and is now well established as an industry standard for recognizing excellence in brownfields redevelopment. 

CBN/Actual Media Brownie Awards

CBN, together with Actual Media (publishers of ReNew Canada and Water Canada magazines) are pleased to announce we have taken responsibility for the Brownie Awards, formerly sponsored by the Canadian Urban Institute.  The Brownie Awards program recognizes leadership, innovation and environmental sustainability in brownfields redevelopment across Canada. Working with key industry and professional organizations, We will be presenting the Awards at the an Awards Gala. Read about the CBN/Actual Media Brownie Awards. You can also download the nomination forms for projects/programs or the Brownfielder of the Year.

Information about winners in previous years is available at

Real Property Institute of Canada Federal Contaminated Sites Awards

The Federal Contaminated Sites Awards are presented every other year in recognition of groups or individuals who have made a significant contribution to the federal contaminated sites community in the areas of technical innovation, sustainability, skills development and service excellence. The awards are presented every other year at the RPIC Federal Contaminated Sites National Workshop.

General information about the awards

Brownfield Briefing Remediation Awards

The Brownfield Briefing Remediation Awards recognise best practice in remediation and use of remediation technology throughout the UK.

Organised by Brownfield Briefing and Newzeye, the Awards are divided into categories that include the different remediation techniques; most innovative remediation method; and most sustainable remediation project.

The Awards are held in conjunction with the Brownfield Briefing annual "Contaminated Land and Remediation" conference.

Phoenix Awards

The Phoenix Awards were created in 1997 to honour the groups that develop significant brownfields sites across the USA. They seek to recognize innovative yet practical remediation projects, which bring blighted, old commercial and industrial sites back to productive use. The Phoenix Awards are run by the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection and are presented at the annual US EPA Brownfields Conference run by ICMA.


The GLOBE Awards for Environmental Excellence

The Globe Awards are presented to Canadian and International organizations for their demonstration of excellence in environmental fields. In 2004, a new category to the GLOBE Award was created for Excellence in Brownfield Redevelopment. This national award, sponsored by the GLOBE Foundation and The Globe & Mail, is be presented to a local government or private sector company or consortium that has demonstrated outstanding leadership in transforming a brownfield site into a thriving, revitalized community or business area. The Globe Awards are presented biannually at the GLOBE conference in British Columbia and intermittent years at the ECCO conference in Toronto. Read about the GLOBE Awards.

U.S. EPA National Award for Smart Growth Achievement

Through the National Award for Smart Growth Achievement, the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) seeks to recognize and support public entities (from cities to state governments and the many types of public entities in-between) that promote and achieve smart growth, while at the same time bringing about direct and indirect environmental benefits. Read about the National Award for Smart Growth Achievement.

FCM–CH2M HILL Sustainable Community Awards

FCM and CH2M HILL offer national recognition for projects that demonstrate environmental responsibility and excellence.

Across Canada, municipal governments are implementing innovative projects that contribute to sustainable community development. Truly sustainable projects take a holistic, integrated approach, where economic, social and environmental factors are inextricably linked.

Sustainable communities can take many forms: large or small, urban or rural, central or remote. Their paths to sustainability are equally varied. Best practices in sustainable community development are celebrated each year with the FCM-CH2M HILL Sustainable Community Awards, which was established in 2000.

Visit the Winners’ Database and search past winners, including printable summaries and video clips, and learn more about the Awards categories and sponsors.

For more information visit

Brownfield Renewal Awards

Brownfield Renewal magazine is now accepting nominations for 2012! The Brownfield Renewal Magazine's Renewal Awards' nominations will culminate in the selection of three esteemed winners in November. Awards will then be presented to projects that represent the gold standard of development across three distinct industry spheres of influence. The three categories are Environmental impacts, Economic impacts, and Social impacts.

Any individual, group, company, organization, government body or agency is eligible to submit an application. These projects can encompass Private enterprise, Public facilities, Industrial reuse of a brownfields site, or Environmental restoration.

For more information, visit

Introducing CBN's Corporate Members
  • Geosyntec Consultants
  • Vertex Environmental
  • WSP Canada


© 2019 Canadian Brownfields Network. All rights reserved.