Brownies FAQ

We thought it would be useful to post answers to some frequently asked questions:

Who can submit a Brownie nomination?

Any organization involved in brownfield redevelopment in Canada can submit a nomination - municipalities, utilities, developers, consultants, property owners, non-governmental organizations, regulators, etc. - either on behalf of someone else or for its own work.

What are the categories this year?
  • REPROGRAM: Legislation, Policy & Procurement
  • REMEDIATE: Sustainable Remediation & Technological Innovation
  • REINVEST: Financing, Risk Management & Partnerships
  • REBUILD: Redevelopment at the Local, Site Scale
  • RENEW: Redevelopment at the Community Scale
  • REACH OUT: Communications, Marketing & Public Engagement
  • Brownfielder of the Year
For further information on the categories, please see the Brownies page on the CBN website.

Does the project/program I nominate have to meet all of the detailed criteria?

Nominated projects/programs should meet the majority of the criteria for the category in which they're nominated, and we recognize that outstanding performance for one of the criteria can outweigh criteria that do not apply to a project/program and that it is rare for a nominated project to score ten out of ten on each of the relevant criteria. We encourage you to nominate a project, even if it doesn't, in your opinion, address all the criteria in its category.

Does the project/program have to involve a CBN member, either as manager/leader or part of the team?

In a word, no. Nominations are open to everyone involved in Canadian brownfield redevelopment.

Have there been major changes in the Awards, now that CBN and Actual Media are handling them?

Slight wording changes have been made to the criteria for the REBUILD (local, site scale) and RENEW (community scale) awards. However, if you could have nominated a project/program last year, you can nominate it this year.

What is the cost to submit a nomination?

The fee is only $150 per nomination, and CBN will invoice you once the nomination is received. You can pay by cheque or credit card, whichever is most convenient for you.

What recognition is given to nominated projects?
The list and a description of short-listed projects/programs will be published on this website (, the CBN website ( Additionally, they will be posted to and distributed through its ReNewsletter digital media eBlast.
Winners will have the opportunity to give a short overview of their projects at the Brownie Awards Gala, and will receive an original piece of art, handcrafted by Floyd Elzinga. They will also be able to include “2016 Brownie Award winner” and CBN/Brownie Awards branding in their marketing and communications.
What are the criteria for the Brownfielder of the Year?

The Brownfielder of the Year award is given to recognize an outstanding individual in the industry.

Do you have more questions about the Award process?

If you have any questions about the process or criteria, please contact David Petrie of CBN; you can also call us at 416-491-2886 ext. 249.

© 2018 Canadian Brownfields Network. All rights reserved.